Regional Chair Early Years Niagara Literary Award

Regional Chair Early Years Niagara Literary Award



The Regional Chair Early Years Niagara Literary Award Committee (RCEYNLA) has established a unique award for children's literature aimed at the 0-6 age group. 


A review of existing awards for excellence in children's literature showed that none existed in Canada for infants to age six. This award aims to draw attention not only to the value of reading with children in their early years when their brains are at peak development, but also to the need for quality books for this age group.


Based on selection criteria, six outstanding books are shortlisted by the Selection Committee for the award.  Families are encouraged to read these books together before voting online or by paper ballot at public libraries, Ontario Early Years Centres, Niagara Region Child Care Centres and other places where families gather.


In partnership with the Touch a Truck fundraiser for children's literacy, the award-winning books are provided to Ontario Early Years Centres, licensed child care centres, and other sites where families and childen gather.



2012 Award-Winning Title:  I Broke My Trunk!

2012 Shortlist



2011 Award-Winning Title:  Little Owl Lost

2011 Shortlist 



2010 Award-Winning Title:  Rhyming Dust Bunnies

2010 Shortlist



2009 Award-Winning Title:  Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes

2009 Shortlist



2008 Award-Winning Title:  I Hate Gloria

2008 Shortlist



2007 Award-Winning Title:  Not a Box

2007 Shortlist



2006 Award-Winning Title:  Llama Llama Red Pajama

2006 Shortlist



2005 Award-Winning Title:  Knuffle Bunny

2005 Shortlist


Nov 20th

National Child Day